Illustrator, Writer, Time Traveler?

Before I begin, I would like to thank two special people: Rick DiBlasio, who writes ‘The Affluent Artist’ Blog and Steve Barancik of ‘The Shared Self-Publishing Blog’ for encouraging me on this new adventure. Respectively, my links to these sites are:

http://affluentartist.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/ms-lederer-the-illustrator/#comments

http://www.shared-self-publishing.com/an-illustrator-in-podland.html

******

In case you were wondering… Imaginarius is the job title I might have had were I to set up shop in ancient Rome…It’s also the name of the imprint (Imaginarius Editions) under which I’ve recently published my first title:

The Alchymical Zoodiac: A Celestial Bestiary:

http://www.winnlederer.com/zoodiacbook/default.htm

******

You may know me as an artist, illustrator, or writer; perhaps all three. But with my latest project, I seem to have become a time-traveler as well. OK, a virtual one, if you want to get technical. For the past five+ years I’ve journeyed back through the millennia to research my new book, Between Heaven & Earth: An Illuminated Torah Commentary. You should know that I have never considered myself a scholar in the traditional sense, yet this project has intensely provoked my natural curiosity and led me to studies in Torah, Talmud, Aggadah (non-legal texts of rabbinic literature) and Jewish mysticism. Ancient languages also came into play as I explored the eerily similar stories of many other cultures. But what actually peaked my interest in this whole project is fully explained in the book’s introduction.

As I engaged in ‘dialogues’ with the writings of revered rabbis and scholars of past centuries, absorbing their stories and exploring sources for relevant artifacts, I knew this project would be more than a book; it would be a learning vehicle not just for myself, but for my readers and collectors. That said, I wanted this book to be a collection of ‘memes’, so to speak, that would act as touchstones to the stories and ideas which they illuminated.

While no book has been reframed for relevancy more than the Bible, my new visual commentary (midrash) on the Torah (Old Testament) is designed to be understood from multiple perspectives. It is a unique fusion of selected quotations and highly detailed illustrations that honor historic  sources and artifacts while allowing the multi-layered back stories within the Torah to speak. I have also provided  in-depth commentary to reveal my thought process in creating the illustrations and perhaps to raise more questions than it answers…

I will post an update here, on Facebook and Twitter when the book is available.I look forward to your questions and comments and to beginning a new dialogue for this time-honored tome!

Between Heaven & Earth: An Illuminated Torah Commentary will be released in September by Pomegranate Communications. It can be pre-ordered directly from the publisher at:

http://pomegranate.stores.yahoo.net/a166.htmlBetween Heaven & Earth: An Illuminated Torah Commentary


Leave a Reply

